You are here: Home Our Members Principal Investigators
Oliver Einsle Profile Page
Oliver Einsle


Lab: Prof. Dr. Oliver Einsle
Department: Institute of Biochemistry
Address: Albertstraße 21
79104 Freiburg
Phone: +49 761 203 6058
E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Lab homepage:
BIOSS Excellence Cluster: Associated Member
PhD positions available: YES
Research Area: Protein Structure and Function
Research Interests: Structure and Function of Membrane Proteins and Metalloproteins


Education & Training: 1991-1996: Diploma in Biology at Universität Konstanz
2000: Dr. rer. nat. in Biology
Biophysics & Biochemistry at Universität Konstanz
Employment & Experience: 2000-2001: Postdoctoral fellow with R. Huber, MPI for Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany
2001-2003: Postdoctoral fellow with D.C. Rees, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA
2003-2008: Junior professor for Protein Crystallography, University of Göttingen, Germany
2008-present: Full Professor and Chair of Biochemistry, University of Freiburg, Germany
Scientific Activities: 1998-present: Member of the German Association for General and Applied Microbiology (VAAM)
1998-present: Member of the Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (GBM)
1999-present: Member of the Society for Biological Inorganic Chemistry (SBIC)
2003: Co-organizer of the “International Symposium on Copper in Biology”
2006: Co-organizer of the “9th Heart of Europe Meeting on Biocrystallography”
2007-present: Member of the American Chemical Society (ACS)
2012: Co-organizer of the „17th European Bioenergetics Conference (EBEC)“
2012-present: Speaker of the study group „Structural Biology“ of the GBM
2013: Co-organizer of the “27th Rhine-Knee Meeting on Biocrystallography”
2014: Organizer of the “5th Murnau Conference on Structural Biology”


Honors and Awards:

2001: Doctoral Award of the Society for General and Applied Microbiology (VAAM)

2001: Byk Award, Hebert-Quandt-Foundation, Altana AG

2005: EMBO Young Investigator

2012: ERC starting grant

2013: SBIC Early Career Award

2013: Johann Griess Lectureship, Royal Society of Chemistry, East Midlands Section


Selected Publications:

Hermann, B., Kern, M., La Pietra, L., Simon, J. & Einsle, O. The octahaem MccA is a haem c–copper sulfite reductase. (2015) Nature, Feb 2. doi: 10.1038/nature14109. [Epub ahead of print]. Abstract

Spatzal, T., Perez, K.A., Einsle, O., Howard, J.B. & Rees, D.C. Ligand binding to the FeMo-cofactor: Structures of CO-bound and reactivated nitrogenase. (2014) Science, 345, 1620-1623. Abstract

Lü W, Schwarzer NJ, Du J, Gerbig-Smentek E, Andrade SLA, Einsle O.  Structure and mechanism of the nitrite channel NirC from Salmonella typhimurium. (2012) Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA, 109, 18395-18400. Abstract

Spatzal T, Aksoyoglu M, Zhang L, Andrade SLA, Schleicher E, Weber S, Rees DC, Einsle O. Evidence for Interstitial Carbon in Nitrogenase FeMo Cofactor. (2011)
Science, 334, 940. Abstract

Du J, Say RF, Lü W, Fuchs G, Einsle O. Active site remodeling in the bifunctional fructose-6-bisphosphate aldolase/phosphatase. (2011) 
Nature, 478, 534-537. Abstract

Pomowski A, Zumft WG, Kroneck PMH, Einsle O. N2O binding at a [4Cu:2S] copper-sulfur cluster in nitrous oxide reductase. (2011) 
Nature 477, 234-237. Abstract

Lü W, Du J, Wacker T, Gerbig-Smentek E, Andrade SLA, Einsle O. pH-dependent gating in a FocA formate channel. (2011) 
Science, 332, 352-354. Abstract

Andrade SLA, Dickmanns A, Ficner R, Einsle O. Crystal Structure of the Archaeal Ammonium Transporter Amt-1 from Archaeoglobus fulgidus. (2005).  Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA, 102, 14994-14999. Abstract

Einsle O, Tezcan FA, Andrade SL, Schmid B, Yoshida M, Howard JB, Rees DC. Nitrogenase MoFe protein at 1.16 Å resolution: A central ligand in the FeMo cofactor. (2002) Science 297, 1696-1700. Abstract

Einsle O, Messerschmidt A, Stach P, Bourenkov GP, Bartunik HD, Huber R, Kroneck PMH. Structure of cytochrome c nitrite reductase. 
(1999) Nature 400, 476-480. Abstract

SGBM PhD students

SGBM PhD students:


Track 1:
Nienke Kuipers (05/2011 - 06/2014)
Heng Keat Tam (05/2010 - 10/2013)


Copyright © 2009-2023 University of Freiburg