You are here: Home Our Members Principal Investigators
Sebastian Arnold Profile Page
Sebastian Arnold


Lab: Prof. Dr. Sebastian Arnold
Department: Institute for Clinical and Experimental Pharmacology and Toxicology
Department II
Address: Albertstr. 25
79104 Freiburg
Phone: +49 761 203 96819
E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Lab homepage:
PhD positions available: YES
Research Area: Developmental Biology
Research Interests: - Signals & transcription factors guiding cell specification during early mouse development
- Generation of differentiated cell types from pluripotent stem cells
- Morphogenesis and cellular mechanisms of germ layer formation


Education & Training: 1994-2001: Studies in Human Medicine, University of Freiburg, Germany
Employment & Experience: since 2016: Group leader, and Heisenberg-Professor (since 2017) Institute of Pharmacology, University of Freiburg
2010-2016: Emmy Noether Group Leader, University Medical Centre, Renal Department, Freiburg
2009-2010: Resident and Junior Group Leader, University Medical Centre, Renal Department, Freiburg
2004-2008: Postdoctoral Fellow, laboratory of Prof. E. J. Robertson, Cell and Developmental Biology, University of Oxford, UK
2002-2004: Clinical Resident, University Medical Centre, Renal Department, Freiburg
Scientific Activities: since 2021: Member SFB 1453 (NephGen)
since 2019: Member Cluster of Excellence CIBSS, research project B1
since 2019: Member SFB 992 (MEDEP, Medical Epigenetics)
since 2015: Member Executive Board Spemann Graduate School of Biology and Medicine (SGBM), Freiburg
since 2015: Principal Investigator SFB 1140, Freiburg, project B07
since 2014: Member Executive Board SFB 850, Freiburg
since 2011: Member Executive Board Center for Experimental Models and Transgenic Services (CEMT), Freiburg
since 2011: Member Spemann Graduate School of Biology and Medicine (SGBM), Freiburg
since 2011: Associated Member BIOSS, Centre for Biological Signalling Studies, Freiburg
since 2010: Principal Investigator SFB 850, Freiburg, project A3 (renewed in 2014)
2007-2008: Member Selection Committee, DAAD, London office


Honors and Awards:

2017   Heisenberg-Professorship awarded by DFG
2012   Paul Schölmerich Award 2012
2010-  Emmy Noether Fellowship (DFG)
2004-2008 Feodor-Lynen Fellowship, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation


Selected Publications:

Probst S, Sagar, Tosic J, Schwan C, Grün D, Arnold SJ. Spatiotemporal sequence of mesoderm and endoderm lineage segregation during mouse gastrulation. Development. 2021 Jan 7;148(1):dev193789.  Abstract

Tosic J, Kim GJ, Pavlovic M, Schröder CM, Mersiowsky SL, Barg M, Hofherr A, Probst S, Köttgen M, Hein L, Arnold SJ. Eomes and Brachyury control pluripotency exit and germ-layer segregation by changing the chromatin state. Nat Cell Biol. 2019 Dec;21(12):1518-1531.  Abstract

Kaminski MM, Tosic J, Kresbach C, Engel H, Klockenbusch J, Müller AL, Pichler R, Grahammer F, Kretz O, Huber TB, Walz G, Arnold SJ, Lienkamp SS. Direct reprogramming of fibroblasts into renal tubular epithelial cells by defined transcription factors. Nat Cell Biol. 2016 Dec;18(12):1269-1280. Abstract

Funk MC, Bera AN, Menchen T, Kuales G, Thriene K, Lienkamp SS, Dengjel J, Omran H, Frank M, Arnold SJ. Cyclin O (Ccno) functions during deuterosome-mediated centriole amplification of multiciliated cells. EMBO J. 2015 Apr 15;34(8):1078-89.  Abstract

Zhu D, Hölz S, Metzger E, Pavlovic M, Jandausch A, Jilg C, Galgoczy P, Herz C, Moser M, Metzger D, Günther T, Arnold SJ, Schüle R. Lysine-specific demethylase 1 regulates differentiation onset and migration of trophoblast stem cells. Nat Commun. 2014;5:3174.  Abstract

Costello I, Pimeisl IM, Dräger S, Bikoff EK, Robertson EJ, Arnold SJ. The T-box transcription factor Eomesodermin acts upstream of Mesp1 to specify cardiac mesoderm during mouse gastrulation. Nat Cell Biol. 2011 Aug 7;13(9):1084-91.  Abstract

Teo AK, Arnold SJ, Trotter MW, Brown S, Ang LT, Chng Z, Robertson EJ, Dunn NR, Vallier L. Pluripotency factors regulate definitive endoderm specification through eomesodermin. Genes Dev. 2011 Feb 1;25(3):238-50. Abstract

Arnold SJ, Robertson EJ. Making a commitment: cell lineage allocation and axis patterning in the early mouse embryo. Nat Rev Mol Cell Biol. 2009 Feb;10(2):91-103.  Abstract

Arnold SJ, Huang GJ, Cheung AF, Era T, Nishikawa S, Bikoff EK, Molnár Z, Robertson EJ, Groszer M. The T-box transcription factor Eomes/Tbr2 regulates neurogenesis in the cortical subventricular zone. Genes Dev. 2008 Sep 15;22(18):2479-84.  Abstract

Arnold SJ, Hofmann UK, Bikoff EK, Robertson EJ. Pivotal roles for eomesodermin during axis formation, epithelium-to-mesenchyme transition and endoderm specification in the mouse. Development. 2008 Feb;135(3):501-11.  Abstract

SGBM PhD students

SGBM PhD students:

CIBSS Track:

Chiara Schröder (since January 2019)


Maja Funk (01/2013 - 12/2015)

Jelena Tosic (02/2015 - 01/2020)

Copyright © 2009-2023 University of Freiburg